
Unclaimed Property Relating to Sales Finance Companies and Insurance 

Premium Finance Agencies – Reference Sheet 

 

Schedule of Events for §1313 

June 30 
Cut-off date – if funds have become dormant in the year prior to this date, they should be 
included in this report cycle 

July 10 First class mailing completed 

August 10 Certified mailing completed 

October 10 
Final report, Verification and Checklist and remittance received in our office by the close 
of business 

 
 
 

How to Report (due 10/10) - Include the following when reporting: 

 
1. Account details of the funds you are transferring in an approved format  
2. Remittance of cash 
3. Verification and Checklist (Form AC2709 or Electronic VCL) 

 

Make sure the total 
amount is the same 
on all three parts 

 
 
 
 
 
 

 
More details, including forms and contact information, can be found at: https://www.osc.ny.gov/unclaimed-
funds/reporters 
 

Applicable Property Types 

Property Type Property Type Description Dormancy Period 

8C 
Amounts owed by sales finance companies and 
insurance premium finance agencies 

3 years  

8X Late filing interest  

 

Account 

Details  
Remittance 

of Cash  
Verification 

& Checklist 

https://www.osc.ny.gov/unclaimed-funds/reporters
https://www.osc.ny.gov/unclaimed-funds/reporters


Unclaimed Property Relating to Sales Finance Companies and Insurance 

Premium Finance Agencies 

 

The following information corresponds to §1313 of New York’s Abandoned Property Law (APL). For more 

information, refer to §1313 of the statute. 

This document includes the following sections: 

Unclaimed Property 

Statutory Considerations in Addition to §1313 

Due Diligence Mailing Requirement  

Remittance 

Schedule of Events for §1313  

 



Unclaimed Property 

 

Unclaimed property subject to §1313 of the APL includes any amounts held or owed by a company or agency 

payable to a person or entity as a refund or rebate, according to the provisions of New York’s Banking Law. 

 

 

Statutory Considerations in Addition to Section 1313 – Unclaimed Property 

Relating to Sales Finance Companies and Insurance Premium Finance Agencies 

 

Article V and Section 1315 of New York’s 

Abandoned Property Law 

Sales finance companies and insurance premium 

finance agencies are also subject to the statutory 

requirements of Article V and §1315 of New York’s 

APL. For more information, refer to Article V and 

§1315 of the statute and to OUF’s General 

Corporations document. 

Due Diligence 

Holders of abandoned property are required to 

conduct due diligence in the form of mailings. A 

positive customer response to any due diligence 

attempt negates the need for further due diligence 

actions on an account. 

§1422 of the APL requires that, at least 90 days prior 
to submitting its final report, the holder send a notice 
by first class mail to each owner whose name is 
expected to appear on that report unless the address 
for the owner is unknown or the holder can 
demonstrate that the address it maintains for the 
owner is not the owner’s current address. In addition, 
at least 60 days prior to submitting its final report, the 
holder must send a notice by certified mail (return 
receipt requested) to each owner whose name is 
expected to appear on that report with abandoned 
property valued in excess of $1,000 unless contact 
with the owner has been established, the first class 
mailing was returned as undeliverable or the mailing 
address is outside the United States. 

Electronic Contact  

Certain types of electronic contact can be used to 

satisfy the written communication requirements in the 

APL to prevent the property from being deemed 

abandoned. This includes email communication from 

the entitled owner of the property that matches the 

registered email address on record with the holder or 

a verifiable login by the owner using a website or 

mobile application made available by the holder. See 

NYCRR Title 2 Part 125 for more details. 

Holders Not Authorized to Conduct 

Business in New York State 

§1312 of the APL extends statutory coverage to any 

sales finance company and any insurance premium 

finance agency that: 

• Is chartered or organized in another state 

and not authorized to do business in New 

York. 

• Holds unclaimed property payable to a 

person whose last known address is within 

New York. 

Such reporting organizations are subject to the same 

statutory reporting requirements as organizations 

doing business in New York. However, the publication 

requirement does not apply. 

New York State Banking Law 

§491 (subdivision 7), §554 (subdivision 7), Article 11-

B, and Article 12-B of New York’s Banking Law define 

sales finance companies, insurance premium finance 

agencies, and reportable amounts. These provisions 

of the Banking Law work in conjunction with §1313 of 

the APL, setting forth the requirements for reporting 

under this heading. For more information, refer to the 

above referenced sections and articles of New York’s 

Banking Law.  

 



Due Diligence Mailing Requirements 

 

First Class and Certified Mailings 

§1422 of the APL requires that all organizations do the following: 

• At least 90 days prior to their final report/remittance date, send a first class mailing to each owner whose 

name is expected to appear on that report unless: 

o The owner address is unknown, or 

o The holder can demonstrate that the address it maintains for the property owner is not the property 

owner’s current address. 

▪ Note – if you use an address validation service and find a new address for the owner, you 
may send the mailing to the new address but you should not change the original address 
on your report. 

o The items to be reported are valued at $20 or less are reported in the aggregate, in which case the 
owner’s name will not appear on the report, therefore a mailing is not required. 

And 

• At least 60 days prior to their final report/remittance date, send a certified mailing, return receipt requested, 

to each owner whose name is expected to appear on that report with abandoned property valued in excess 

of $1,000 unless: 

o A claim has been initiated since the first class mailing was sent, or 

o The first class mailing was returned as undeliverable, or 

o The last known address is outside of the United States. 

 

Costs 

You may deduct the mailing costs for certified mail. 

Deduct such charges from each item for which you 

are mailing the notice, or one item if you are rolling 

similar items for a specific owner into one item. You 

may not make a bulk deduction against the final 

remittance. 

Foreign address 

Exercise due caution in attempting to contact entitled 

owners who reside in politically sensitive countries as 

defined by the U.S. Department of Treasury’s Office 

of Foreign Assets Control. Certified mailing 

requirements do not apply to residents of foreign 

countries. Address any questions pertaining to this 

subject to our Director of Audits. 

 

 

 

 

Multiple Items 

Where feasible, if you are reporting more than one 

item for the same customer, one letter should address 

all items you are reporting. 

Multiple Owners 

For cases in which multiple owners of an item have 

different addresses, you must send a letter to each 

owner. You may deduct the additional costs of mailing 

a certified notice to more than one address. 

Wages  

Owners of unclaimed wages must be notified at 
the last known address of record via first class 
mail under Article V. Notifications must be sent in 
the calendar year prior to the year in which you 
are required to deliver the property to the State 
Comptroller. You may not deduct the cost of 
sending notifications from the value of the 
abandoned property. 

 

 

 



Remittance 

 

Submit your remittance at the time you file a report. The remittance should be equal to the sum of the values of the 
accounts being reported to the Office of the State Comptroller. Pay your remittance by electronic transfer or check. 

Electronic Funds Transfer 

Electronic funds transfer is available to make payment of the amount due for your report of abandoned property. 
Instructions, including the account and routing number information, are linked in the Forms area of the website. 

Checks 

Make checks payable to Comptroller, State of New York. You should mail it to the following address: 

New York State Office of the State Comptroller 
Office of Unclaimed Funds 

Remittance Control, 2nd Floor 

110 State Street 
Albany, NY 12236 

Include the letters ‘OUF’ and the Date/Time stamp in the memo and advice areas of your check if you sent your 
report account details using one of our electronic reporting methods. This will help us apply your funds correctly. 

In accordance with OUF’s internal control procedures, send all payments to the above address. Do not send any 
checks to our New York City office. 

 

 

Schedule of Events for §1313 – Unclaimed Property Relating to Sales Finance 

Companies and Insurance Premium Finance Agencies 

 

June 30 

For reporting purposes, a sales finance company’s or an insurance premium finance agency’s year runs from 

July 1 through the following June 30. June 30 is the cut-off or ending date for the reporting period. Use it when 

identifying abandoned accounts/items. 

July 10 

By this date: 

• Send a first class mailing to each person or entity whose name appears on your report of abandoned 

property and request a signed written statement from the owner that acknowledges the property’s 

existence. This requirement does not apply to those accounts that meet the exclusionary provisions of 

§1422. 

• Advise and educate internal communications staff about the due diligence letters for effective 

processing when the rightful owner contacts your organization. 

• Reactivate all accounts of owners who responded to the mailing. Do not include these accounts on your 

report. 

 

 

 

https://www.osc.ny.gov/unclaimed-funds/reporters/electronic-fund-transfer-instructions
https://www.osc.ny.gov/unclaimed-funds/reporters/electronic-fund-transfer-instructions


August 10 

By this date: 

• If an owner has not responded to the first class mailing, or if the first class mailing was not returned as 

undeliverable, and the value of all unclaimed property held for the owner exceeds $1,000, you are 

required to send a second notification via certified mail, return receipt requested. 

o You may charge the cost of the certified mailing against the property’s value. 

• Reactivate all accounts of owners who respond to the mailing. Do not include these accounts on your 

report. 

o Note: we consider a return receipt to be customer contact if the receipt bears the signature of the 

account owner. Verify return receipt signatures against the other signature records you may have 

for an owner. 

July 1 through September 30 

During this period, review your records and collect data relative to any account/item that may be dormant and 

subject to reporting. 

If you have an account/item subject to reporting: 

• Compile the data in one of our reporting formats, so that you may submit it as your final report. 

If you do not have any items subject to reporting: 

• Keep a record of your review. 

• Do not send preliminary or negative (zero dollar) reports. 

On or before October 10 

By this date: 

• Finalize the report. 

• Arrange for payment. 

• Submit the report, payment, and a Verification and Checklist to be received in our office by the close of 

business on October 10. 

 

 


