
Unclaimed Property Relating to Brokers and Dealers – Reference Sheet 

 

Schedule of Events for Article V-A 

December 10 First class mailing deadline 

December 31 
Cut-off date – if funds have become dormant in the year prior to this date, they should 
be included in this report cycle 

January 10 Certified mailing deadline 

March 10 
Final report, Verification and Checklist and remittance received in our office by the 
close of business 

 

How to Report (due 3/10) - Include the following when reporting: 

 
1. Account details of the funds you are transferring in an approved format  
2. Remittance of cash or securities 
3. Verification and Checklist (Form AC2709 or Electronic VCL) 

 

Make sure the total 
amount is the same 
on all three parts 

 
 

 
More details, including forms and contact information, can be found at: https://www.osc.ny.gov/unclaimed-
funds/reporters 
 

Applicable Property Types 

Property Type Property Type Description Dormancy Period 

1I 
Credit balances in trading and investment accounts with 
trusts, brokers, investment firms, etc., including 
outstanding checks issued to customers  

3 years 

4A Cash over receipts-dividends and other  3 years 

4B Bond interest over receipts  3 years 

4C Stock over receipts-dividends and other  3 years 

4D Other over receipts  3 years 

4E Unidentified overages  3 years 

4F 
Other distributions resulting from ownership interest or debt 
obligation  

3 years 

4P Stock over receipts-dividends and other, shares  3 years 

4Q Other over receipts-shares 3 years 

4R Unidentified overages-shares  3 years 

4S 
Other distributions resulting from ownership interest or debt 
obligation-shares 

3 years 

8A 
Wages, payroll, salaries, commissions, pension 
payments, CMTA 

3 years 

8F 
Securities long in customers’ trading, investment, or trust 
accounts  

3 years 

8P 
Securities long in customers’ trading, investment, or trust 
accounts-shares 

3 years 

8X Late filing interest  

Account 

Details  

Remittance 

of Cash or 

Securities 

Verification 

& Checklist 

https://www.osc.ny.gov/unclaimed-funds/reporters
https://www.osc.ny.gov/unclaimed-funds/reporters


 

Unclaimed Property Relating to Brokers and Dealers 

 

The following information corresponds to Article V-A of New York’s Abandoned Property Law (APL). For more 

information, refer to Article V-A of the statute. 

This document includes the following sections: 

Unclaimed Property 

Statutory Considerations in Addition to Article V-A 

Important Issues 

Mailing Requirements 

Remittance 

Security Delivery 

Report Samples 

Schedule of Events for Article V-A 

 



Unclaimed Property 

 

Unclaimed property subject to Article V-A of the APL includes dormant customer accounts, uncashed checks, and 

wages. If the broker or dealer is incorporated in New York State, overpayment amounts and securities held for 

unknown owners are also subject to the statute. There are specific record retention requirements for brokers and 

dealers. 

 

Statutory Considerations in Addition to Article V-A – Brokers and Dealers 

Article V and Section 1315 of New York’s 

Abandoned Property Law 

In addition to Article V-A, brokers and dealers are 

subject to the statutory requirements of Article V and 

§1315 of the APL. For more information, refer to 

Article V and §1315 of the statute and to OUF’s 

General Corporation document. 

Abandoned property related to Article V and §1315 

may be included with your Article V-A report. 

Due Diligence 

Holders of abandoned property are required to 

conduct due diligence in the form of mailings. A 

positive customer response to any due diligence 

attempt negates the need for further due diligence 

actions on an account. 

§1422 of the APL requires that, at least 90 days prior 

to your final report, a first class mailing be made to 

each person whose name is expected to appear on 

the report unless the address is unknown or the 

holder can demonstrate that the address it has for the 

owner is not the owner’s current address. In addition, 

at least 60 days prior to your final report, a certified 

mailing, return receipt requested, must be made to 

each person whose name is expected to appear on 

the report whose abandoned property is valued in 

excess of $1,000 unless a claim has been initiated 

since the first class mailing was sent, or the first class 

mailing was returned as undeliverable. 

In addition, in §501.2.b.iii, certified mailing is required 

for all dividend reinvestment shares, including mutual 

funds (book entry shares only). 

 

Electronic Contact  

Certain types of electronic contact can be used to 

satisfy the written communication requirements in the 

APL to prevent the property from being deemed 

abandoned. This includes email communication from 

the entitled owner of the property that matches the 

registered email address on record with the holder or 

a verifiable login by the owner using a website or 

mobile application made available by the holder. See 

NYCRR Title 2 Part 125 for more details. 

Holders Not Authorized to Conduct 

Business in New York State 

§1312 of the APL extends statutory coverage to any 

broker or dealer that: 

• Is chartered or organized in another state 

and not authorized to do business in New 

York and 

• Holds unclaimed property payable to a 

person whose last known address is within 

New York. 

Such reporting organizations are subject to the same 

statutory reporting requirements as organizations 

doing business in New York. 

 

 

 

 



Important Issues – Brokers and Dealers 

Dormant Customer Accounts 

Dormant customer accounts are reportable to New 

York State if payable to a resident of this state. Those 

stockbrokers incorporated in New York State are also 

required to remit foreign and unknown resident 

accounts. Dormant accounts held for non-New York 

residents may be subject to the abandoned property 

laws of other states. 

IRA and Keogh Accounts 

In the absence of contact/activity within the last three 

years, report an individual retirement account (IRA) or 

Keogh account in the cut-off year in which the 

account’s owner reached or surpassed the mandatory 

distribution age as prescribed by the IRS. Report an 

educational savings IRA (Coverdell Educational 

Savings Account, CESA) in the cut-off year in which 

the account’s owner reached age 30. For an IRA, if 

you cannot reasonably obtain the owner’s date of 

birth, presume the owner was 21 on the account’s 

opening date. For a CESA, use the account opening 

date as the account owner’s date of birth. 

Reported amounts constitute distributions from the 

IRA. In reporting, use the property type that reflects 

the nature of the account. For example, use 1I if the 

proceeds had been held in a trading or investment 

account. In the Date field, enter the date on which the 

owner reached the age of mandatory distribution. In 

the Description of Security field, enter IRA. This 

clarifies that you are not reporting the account 

prematurely. 

Record Retention 

The law requires that brokers and dealers retain 

records relative to abandoned property filings for a 

period of 10 years following the year in which the 

records were created.

Roth IRA 

While a Roth IRA is not subject to the mandatory 

distribution rules during the original owner’s lifetime, 

confusion may nonetheless exist among both the 

public and the holder community as to the proper 

treatment of this product with respect to the reporting 

requirements of the APL. Accordingly, for the purpose 

of consistency, OUF will not penalize reporting 

organizations for treating a Roth IRA in the same 

manner as the traditional IRA and reporting a Roth 

IRA in the year the owner reaches the age of 

mandatory distribution. 

Uncashed Checks 

Uncashed checks issued by brokers to their 

customers or other brokers in payment of dividends, 

bond interest, principal, or other customer credit 

balances are reportable to New York if payable to a 

resident of this state. Additionally, if a broker 

incorporated in New York issues checks to foreign 

and unknown owners, they are reportable to New 

York. Since the funds represent amounts due to 

customers, a three-year dormancy period applies. 

Unclaimed Overpayments – Dividends, 

Interest and Securities 

Brokerage firms incorporated in New York and New 

York partnerships are required to report all unclaimed 

overpayment amounts and securities held for 

unknown owners. A three-year dormancy period 

applies. Such amounts held by a non-New York 

corporation or partnership are reportable to the 

holder’s state of incorporation. 

 

 

 

 

 

  



Mailing Requirements 

 

First Class and Certified Mailings 

§1422 of the APL requires that all organizations do the following: 

• At least 90 days prior to their final report/remittance date, send a first class mailing to each owner 
whose name is expected to appear on that report unless: 

o The address for the owner is unknown; or 
o The holder can demonstrate that the address it maintains for the owner is not the owner’s 

current address. 
▪ Note – if you use an address validation service and find a new address for the owner, 

you may send the mailing to the new address but you should not change the original 
address on your report. 

o The items to be reported are valued at $20 or less and are being reported in the aggregate, in 
which case the owner’s name will not appear on the report, therefore a mailing is not required. 

And 

• At least 60 days prior to their final report/remittance date, send a certified mailing, return receipt 
requested, to each owner whose name is expected to appear on that report with abandoned property 
valued in excess of $1,000 unless: 

o A claim has been initiated since the first class mailing was sent, or 
o The first class mailing was returned as undeliverable, or 
o The last known address is outside of the United States. 

• In the calendar year prior to reporting the funds, send a certified mailing to account owners of dormant 
dividend reinvestment plans or mutual funds (book entry). 

Costs 

You may deduct the mailing costs for certified mail. Deduct such charges from each item for which you are 
mailing the notice, or one item if you are combining similar items for a specific owner into one item. You may not 
make a bulk deduction against the final remittance. The costs for completing the first class mailing requirement 
cannot be offset.  

Foreign Address 

Exercise due caution in attempting to contact entitled owners who reside in politically sensitive countries as defined 

by the U.S. Department of Treasury’s Office of Foreign Assets Control. Certified mailing requirements do not apply to 

residents of foreign countries. Address any questions pertaining to this subject to our Director of Audits. 

Multiple Items 

Where feasible, if you are reporting more than one item for the same customer, one letter should address all of 
the items you are reporting. 

Multiple Owners 

For cases in which multiple owners of an item have different addresses, you must send a letter to each owner. 
You may deduct the additional costs of mailing a certified notice to more than one address. 

Wages and Dividend Reinvestment Accounts – Article V 

Article V requires you to send notification to the apparent owners of securities that are enrolled in reinvestment 
plans. This notification, which is to be sent via certified mail, return receipt requested, must advise owners that in 
the absence of establishing written communication with the holder their securities will be delivered to the State 
Comptroller as abandoned property. A return receipt signed by the owner of the property is considered contact. 

Additionally, Article V stipulates that owners of unclaimed wages be notified at the last known address of record 
via first class mail. 



In either of the above cases, the notifications must be sent in the calendar year prior to the year in which you are 
required to deliver the property to the State Comptroller. You may not deduct the cost of sending these 
notifications from the value of the abandoned property. 

 

Remittance 

 

Submit your remittance at the time you file a report. The remittance should be equal to the sum of the values of 
the accounts being reported. Pay your remittance by electronic transfer, check, or by using the Security Delivery 
Instructions. 

Electronic Funds Transfer 

Electronic funds transfer is available to make payment of the amount due for your report of abandoned property. 
Instructions, including the account and routing number information, are linked in the Forms area of the website. 

Checks 

Make checks payable to Comptroller, State of New York. You should mail it to the following address: 

New York State Office of the State Comptroller 
Office of Unclaimed Funds 
Remittance Control, 2nd floor 
110 State Street 
Albany, New York 12236 

Include the letters ‘OUF’ and the Date/Time stamp in the memo and advice areas of your check if you sent your 
report account details using one of our electronic reporting methods. This will help us apply your funds correctly. 

In accordance with OUF’s internal control procedures, send all payments to the above address. Do not send any 
checks to our New York City office. 

Securities 

Deliver securities to the Comptroller using the current instructions, available on our website. Use the most 
current version; they are kept updated regularly. 

 

Delivery of Securities 
 

You must deliver all reported security positions to the Office of Unclaimed Funds’ (OUF) custodian at the time you file 

the abandoned property report. 

Remove restricted legends from securities (in any form) before delivery. If a restricted legend must remain on the 

security, the reporting organization must provide detailed instructions including the type of restriction and applicable 

restriction dates. 

To deliver securities to the OUF, follow the steps below and use one of the approved delivery methods. 

Before delivering securities to OUF: 

• Prepare a list in MS Excel format describing the securities that you intend to report, including: 

o Security description 

o CUSIP number and ISIN (for foreign securities) 

o Number of shares 

o Delivering party’s Depository Trust Company (DTC) participant number 

o Preferred delivery method 

• Email your list to OUF’s custodian, Avenu Insights and Analytics at upch.custody@avenuinsights.com and 

email a copy to OUF at nysrpu@osc.ny.gov. 

• Receive our delivery authorization within four business days of receiving your email. We will tell you to either 

deliver as requested or provide alternate instructions. Do not deliver securities without authorization. 

https://www.osc.ny.gov/unclaimed-funds/reporters/electronic-fund-transfer-instructions
https://www.osc.ny.gov/unclaimed-funds/reporters/security-delivery-instructions
mailto:upch.custody@avenuinsights.com
mailto:NYSRPU@osc.ny.gov


After delivering the securities retain evidence of the transfer into OUF’s custody, to be provided to OUF upon request. 

Keep the evidence of transfer with the report records for the duration of the record retention period. An owner claim 

may not be paid until you provide this evidence. 

 

Approved Delivery Methods

Book Entry Eligible Shares 

Deliver through DTC, DRS, or DWAC (if not DTC 

participant) as follows: 

DTC #: 901 

Reference: State of New York, OUF 

Agent Bank: 26500 

Acct #: 114429 

 

Dividend Reinvestment Plans (DRP) & Closed-End 

Funds 

Close the accounts and forward whole shares via 

DTC (see Book Entry instructions above). Fractional 

shares must be sold at the owner level and the 

proceeds applied to each individual owner. 

Federal Reserve Securities 

Deliver Federal Reserve securities to: 

Federal Reserve Bank of New York 

ABA #0210-0001-8 

Bk of NYC/CUST 

Account # 114429 

Account Name: State of New York, OUF 

Foreign Securities 

Email your list of foreign securities that need to be 

delivered to OUF’s custodian, Avenu Insights and 

Analytics at upch.custody@avenuinsights.com and 

copy OUF at nysrpu@osc.ny.gov. 

We will reply to your email with an authorization to 

deliver as requested or provide alternate instructions. 

Open-End Mutual Funds 

Open-end mutual fund accounts held for OUF must 

be opened in advance by Avenu Insights and 

Analytics. Email upch.custody@avenuinsights.com to 

obtain account numbers prior to attempting delivery. 

Send interested party statements for open-end mutual 

fund accounts to: 

Avenu Insights and Analytics 

Custody Department 

100 Hancock Street, 10th Floor 

Quincy, MA 02171 

A confirmation statement showing the State of New 

York, OUF as the owner of the shares must be 

available to OUF on request when needed to prove 

receipt or pay a claim. See the Handbook for 

Reporting Organizations for more guidelines. 

Physical Certificates 

Advance approval is required to deliver physical 

certificates. Certificates will be returned to the sender 

if they are DTC, DWAC, or DRS eligible. If physical 

certificates are returned, penalties may be assessed 

until the securities are properly delivered. 

Email your list of securities that need to be delivered 

in certificate form to OUF’s custodian, Avenu Insights 

and Analytics at upch.custody@avenuinsights.com 

and copy OUF at nysrpu@osc.ny.gov. 

We will reply to your email with an authorization to 

deliver as requested or provide alternate instructions. 

Account Registration 

Advance approval is required to deliver securities to 

an account. If securities are not delivered as 

instructed, penalties may be assessed until the 

securities are properly delivered. 

Email your list of securities that need to be delivered 

to an account to OUF at nyssmu@osc.ny.gov. We will 

reply to your email with an authorization to deliver as 

requested or provide alternate instructions. 

A confirmation statement showing the State of New 

York, OUF as the owner of the shares must be 

retained for the duration of the retention period and 

provided to OUF on request. Reversals of shares and 

cash by reporting organizations are not authorized 

without written approval from the Securities 

Management Unit.

mailto:upch.custody@avenuinsights.com
mailto:NYSRPU@osc.ny.gov
mailto:upch.custody@avenuinsights.com
https://www.osc.ny.gov/unclaimed-funds/reporters/handbook-reporters-unclaimed-funds
https://www.osc.ny.gov/unclaimed-funds/reporters/handbook-reporters-unclaimed-funds
mailto:upch.custody@avenuinsights.com
mailto:NYSRPU@osc.ny.gov
mailto:NYSSMU@osc.ny.gov


Report Samples – Brokers and Dealers 
 

Security Account (DTC Delivery) 

This sample reflects how to report a security with fractional shares that could not be delivered and have been 

liquidated. Note that the CUSIP Number of Security, No. of Shares or Denomination, and Method of Transfer fields 

are all complete. Initial and escheated dollar values are left blank. 

Per the Security Delivery Instructions, fractional shares must be liquidated at the owner level and proceeds applied to 

each individual owner. So, for example, when there are 98.765 shares, deliver the 98 shares, then liquidate the 0.765 

and deliver the cash value separately. 

Owner Last Name Jones   Property Type 3Q 

First Name Mary   Property ID Number 98765 

MI M   Date (MMDDYY) 060614 

Suffix     Initial Amount   

Account Title Mary M Jones   Escheated Amount   

Soc. Sec. No./ Empl ID No. 987654321   
Removal Indicator (If 
applicable, enter "P" or "R") 

  

Owner Address 123 Jane Lane   Multiple Owners   

Owner Address 2     Description of Security 

Very Big Company 
& Fractional Cash-
In-Lieu (CIL) 

Owner City Lawndale   CUSIP Number of Security 999888777 

State MD   No. of Shares or Denomination 98.765 

Zip 65432   Method of Transfer D 

Country if Not USA         

Security Account (DRS Deliver) 

This sample reflects the DRS delivery reporting of a security position. Note that the CUSIP Number of Security, No. of 

Shares or Denomination, and Method of Transfer fields are all complete. 

Owner Last Name Jones   Property Type 3Q 

First Name  Mary   Property ID Number ZQ1141 

MI  M   Date (MMDDYY) 061514 

Suffix     Initial Amount   

Account Title  Mary M Jones   Escheated Amount   

Soc. Sec. No./ Empl ID No. 
 987654321   

Removal Indicator (If 
applicable, enter "P" or "R")   

Owner Address  123 Jane Lane   Multiple Owners   

Owner Address 2     Description of Security IBM Common 

Owner City  Lawndale   CUSIP Number of Security 723622107 

State 
 MD   

No. of Shares or Denomination 
1000 

Zip  65432   Method of Transfer D 

Country if Not USA         
 



Schedule of Events for Article V-A – Brokers and Dealers 

 

December 10 

By this date: 

• Send a first class mailing to each person or entity whose name appears on your report of abandoned 
property and request a signed written statement from the owner that acknowledges the property’s 
existence. This requirement does not apply to those accounts that meet the exclusionary provisions of 
§1422. 

• Notify and educate internal communications staff about the due diligence letters for effective processing 
when the rightful owner contacts your organization. 

• Reactivate all accounts of owners who respond to the mailing. Do not include these accounts on your 

report. 

Prior to December 31 

• Send certified mail to each owner of securities in a dividend reinvestment plan or mutual funds (book 

entry) requesting written communication to keep the items active. 

December 31 

For the purposes of determining abandoned property, a broker or dealer’s year runs from January 1 through 

December 31. December 31 is the cut-off or ending date for the reporting period. Use it when identifying 

abandoned accounts/items. 

January 1 through March 10 

During this period, review your records and collect data related to any account/item that may be dormant and 
subject to reporting. 

If you have an account/item subject to reporting: 

• Compile the data in one of our reporting formats so that you may submit it as your final report. 

If you do not have any items subject to reporting: 

• Keep a record of your review. 

• Do not send preliminary or negative (zero balance) reports. 

January 10 

By this date: 

• If an owner has not responded to the first class mailing, or if the first class mailing was not returned as 
undeliverable, and the value of all unclaimed property held for the owner exceeds $1,000, you are 
required to send a second notification via certified mail, return receipt requested. 

o You may charge the cost of the certified mailing against the property’s value. 

• Reactivate all accounts of owners who respond to the mailing. Do not include these accounts on your 
report 

o Note: we consider a return receipt to be customer contact if the receipt bears the signature of the 
account owner. Verify return receipt signatures against the other signature records you may have 
for an owner. 

 

 



On or before March 10 

• Finalize the report. 

• Arrange for payment. 

• Submit the report, payment, and a Verification and Checklist to be received in our office by 
the close of business on March 10. 
 

 


